Lae - inte bara en stad på Nya Guinea

Flygkultur i bloggosfären sedan 2005

I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)

Publicerad 2014-04-04 12:13:00 i Musik - 80-tal,



Hall & Oats  I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)

...från vårvintern för 32 år sedan. Man kan tro att jag tidigare har haft uppe låten på bloggen, men fakttum är "nej, så är inte fallet". Dags att  ta tag i saken, en klassiker som någon tyckte så här om: "- Their smoothest! Copied by everyone and remixed a gazillion times. The bassline and drum on just kill." 

Låten spelades in i mars 1981. Kring dess tillkomst har Hall & Oats själva berättat i en intervju som man hittar delar av på sajten songfacts. Daryl börjar:

"Remember the old Roland CompuRhythm box? I turned to the Rock and Roll 1 preset, sat down at a Korg organ that happened to be lying there and started to play this bass line that was coming to me. It's the old recording studio story: The engineer heard what I was doing and turned on the tape machine. Good thing, because I'm the kind of person who will come up with an idea and forget it. The chords came together in about 10 minutes, and then I heard a guitar riff, which I asked John, who was sitting in the booth, to play."

John Oates continues in the same interview: "Daryl came up with this great bass line, using whatever sound happened to be on the organ, and Neil miked it and the drum machine. Daryl came up with the 'B' section chords, and then I plugged my 1958 Strat directly into the board, which was either an early SSL or a Trident."

The next day Hall and his girlfriend Sara Allen wrote the lyrics. Hall recalls: "I wrote most of the lyrics, but Sara contributed some ideas. I sang the lead vocal, and there's the song - can't get any simpler than that!"

Det har genom åren blivit en hel del bloggat om duon Hall & Oats. Se till exempel dessa tidigare inlägg. Med det vill jag passa på att önska er en trevlig helg!
 

Liknande inlägg

Kommentarer

Postat av: Martin

Publicerad 2014-04-11 14:08:33

Den du....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fPqBs7CNwU

/M

Postat av: F

Publicerad 2014-04-11 15:52:54

Jäpp, den är fräck, M :)

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Lazerjesus

Les Aventures de lazer du Jesus

Till bloggens startsida

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela